Saying Good Bye to a Copy Writing Client

9 May

Have you been contemplating walking away from a copy writing project? If so, then you are not alone.

One of the most difficult things to do as a freelance copy writer (or any freelancer for that matter) is saying good bye to a client. While this doesn’t happen all too often, once in a while through no fault on either side, it’s better to move on to greener pastures. Since I’m not one to give up easily, this kind of scenario doesn’t happen too much to me. But sadly, that’s what occurred recently with a client whom I worked with for about 2 months.

Here’s what happened, in a nutshell:

  • Client and I clicked well during the first couple of weeks.
  • We worked together to come up with a goal for content marketing.
  • I started working on the goal with client weekly.
  • Client suddenly changed mind asking for something else.
  • I tried to get the client back on track with a revised plan.
  • Client blew off my phone calls and emails.
  • Project put on hold due to client’s lack of followup.
  • Gave client option to return to project.
  • Client changed mind yet again.
  • I said good bye and good luck.

You see, what transpired was a lack of interest or commitment on behalf of the client. After jumping through a lot of hoops, despite my best efforts this person was still not “getting it” and working towards the ultimate goal. So, I had to make a decision on whether or not I would continue to let this client’s flip-flopping nature sabotage the project, keep switching gears to suit the client’s whims, or just move on. I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to appease this client, to no avail. Until this person knows what he/she wants, there is nothing I can do that will actually matter. In this case, it was better to just say my good byes and wish the client well. Perhaps later on the client will be ready to commit to working with me, who knows?

So, on what conditions would you keep working with a client like this or move on? Please feel free to share your feedback or comments on this tale of good byes.

